SDYL under-17 cup winners Bovey Tracey

BOVEY Tracey, South Devon and Chagford were among the big winners at the annual Wollen Michelmore South Devon Youth League awards evening.

Somerset batsman Jamie Hildreth was the VIP guest and presentor at the evening, staged at the Grand Hotel in Torquay.Girls' player of the year Emily Martin and presentor Jamie Hildreth

Hildreth shook hands with plenty of Bovey Tracey players as teams playing in the Under-13 A Division, the Under-13 Girls Division, the Under-15A Division and the Under-17 Cup trooped up to the stage to collect their trophies and mementos.

Bovey Tracey players also won individual awards for batting and bowling.

South Devon were formally crowned Under-15 B Division champions and had four winners in player-of-the-year awards: Josh Hammett (batter), Jack Clarkson (bowler) and Emily Martin (all-rounder) and Under-11B bowler Sean Andrews.

Martin, who played in South Devon’s Men’s 1st XI for much of last season, was the girls’ player of the year for the league.

Chagford won the Under-10 Division and were runners-up at Under-11A, Under-11B and Under-12 level.

Ashburton scooped the Under-13 B title.

Ipplepen had a good year at Under-14 level, winning all three individual awards and the runners-up cup.

The Services to Youth Cricket award went to Abbotskerswell’s official Richard Codd.


Under-10: winners – Chagford; runners-up - Bovey Tracey A. Under-11A: Winners – Torquay; runners-up – Chagford. Under-11B: Winners – Torquay; runners-up – Chagford; Under-12: Winners – Paignton; runners-up – Chagford. Under-13A: Winners – Bovey Bowling award winner Seb LinnetTracey; runners-up – Torquay. Under-13BN: Winners – Ashburton; runners-up – Brixham. Under-13 Girls: winners – Bovey Tracey; runners-up – Paignton.Under-14: winners – Paignton; runners-up – Ipplepen. Under-15A: winners – Bovey Tracey; runners-up – Kingsbridge. Under-15B: winners – South Devon; runners-up – Barton. Under-15 Girls: winners – Paignton; runners-up – Bovey Tracey. Under-17 Cup: winners – Bovey Tracey; runners-up – Barton.

Under-11 young player: Harry Passenger Torquay CC; Under-13 young player: Taylor Ingham-Hill Bovey Tracey CC; Under-15 young player: Luke Medlock Paignton CC; Under-17 young player: Harry Senior Bovey Tracey CC; Girls cricket young player: Emily Martin South Devon CC.

Under-10 all-rounder: Jack Ansley Bovey Tracey CC; Under-10 bat: Harry Mount Chagford CC; Under-10 bowler: Seb Linnit Shaldon Optimists CC; Under-11 all-rounder: Ben Coen Shaldon Optimists CC.

Under-11 bat: Jake Pascoe Ashburton CC; Under-11 bowler: Otis Morgan Ashburton CC; Under-11B all-rounder: Jemma Ansley Bovey Tracey CC; Under-11B bat: Emily Roberts Bovey Tracey CC; Under-11B bowler: Sean Andrews South Devon CC.

Under-12 all-rounder: Sam Harvey Bovey Tracey CC; Under-12 bat: Sam Russell Bovey Tracey CC; Under-12 bowler: Matthew Carpenter Paignton CC.Harry Passenger, Jamie Hildreth and Noah Rider with their awards

Under-13 A all-rounder: Freddie O’Connell Chagford CC; Under-13 A bat: Alfie Tucker Bovey Tracey CC; Under-13 A bowler: Sonny Baker Torquay CC; Under-13 B all-rounder: Hollie Perkin Brixham CC; Under-13 B bat: Jake Bartram Ashburton CC.

Under-13 Girls all-rounder: Emily Roberts Bovey Tracey CC; Under-13 Girls bat: Charlotte Massey Paignton CC; Under-13 Girls bowler: Jemma Ansley Bovey Tracey CC; Under-15 Girls all-rounder: Hollie Perkin Paignton CC

Under-14 all-rounder: Dan Cowdry Ipplepen CC; Under-14 bat: Ben Forsey Ipplepen CC; Under-14 bowler: Marcus Gadie Ipplepen CC.

Under-15 A all-rounder: Sam Taylor Bovey Tracey CC; Under-15 A bat: Jake Davey Bovey Tracey CC; Under-15 A bowler: Will Oxborrow Kingsbridge CC; Under-15B all-rounder: Will Greenwood Shaldon Optimists CC; Under-15B bat: Josh Hammett South Devon CC; Under-15B bowler: Jack Clarkson South Devon CC.

President’s Cup: Jim Parker (Barton).

Herald Express Cup: Richard Codd (Abbotskerswell).