Babbacombe's cup-winning team of 1992. Back (left to right): Penn Dyer, Robbie Lewis, Sid Ingell, Ron Thomson, Carl Airey, Chris Kelmere, Colin Brimacombe, Graeme Wilson. Front: Dave Williams, Terry Farkins, Martin Passmore, Lenny Pym and David Goulding

July 25, 1992

TERRY Farkins was named man of the match as Babbacombe put their name on the Midas Shield with a five-wicket win over Paignton 2ndXI at Queen’s Park last night.

Farkins took three for 21 off four overs, as Paignton were held to 91 for nine off 15 eight-ball overs, then made 26 as Babbacombe clinched victory with 13 balls to spare.

Paignton got away to a solid start with openers Jason Woodcock (19) and Richard Mellor (22) making 37 in the first eight overs.

But Farkins and skipper Martin Passmore (2-23) tied down the Paignton middle order and only John Stables (15) made much headway.

Openers Penn Dyer and Lenny Pym motored Babbacombe to 26 for one inside four overs, but there was a mid-innings hiccough as Matt Williams (2-18) got to work.

Farkins and Carl Airey (26) stopped the slide with a fourth-wicket stand of 45 and when they went in the same over to Andy Watts (2-15) Babbacombe were only three runs short of victory with two overs to go.

Paignton II 91-9 (R Mellor 22, J Woodcock 19, J Stables 15; T Farkins 3-21, M Passmore 2-23, D Williams 1-16), Babbacombe 92-5 (T Farkins 26, C Airey 26; A Watts 2-15, M Williams 2-18). Babbacombe bt Paignton by 5 wkts.