Ashburton's South Devon League-winning side after defeating Devon Medics. Back (left to right) Matt Churchill, Marcus West, Dan Coles, Steve Edmonds, Liam Mansell and Robin Lambert; front: Steve Reynolds, A J West, Brad Causey, Nathan Trott and Aditya More<br>credit: Alison Churchill

ASHBURTON are South Devon League champions for the second year in a row after crushing Devon Medics by 171 runs.

Victory over the medical students ensured Ashburton of finishing ahead of South Devon 3rd XI, who are too far behind now to overtake them even if they win at Kingsbridge in their final game of the season.

Matt Churchill, the Ashburton captain won the toss and elected to bat. After losing two early wickets, Aditya More (100no) and Churchill (80) produced a magnificent stand of 169 for the third wicket. 

Brad Causey (78) and Marcus West (22no) ensured no let up as Ashburton finished their 40 overs on 306 for four.

The Medics were all out for 135. Ashton West (2-15) was the pick of the bowlers and there were single wickets for Rob Lambert, Liam Mansell, More, Steve Reynolds, Nathan Trott and Churchill as well as two sharp run outs from Churchill and Trott.