Ashburton's 2021 SDL winning team<br>credit: Contributed

THE South Devon Cricket League is on the lookout for a new secretary to fill a gap in the competition’s executive.

With David Howe having stood down from his position as secretary, it was left to Sheila Harding (results and fixtures), Liz Fulner (treasurer) and Bryon Fishlock (chairman) to keep the league running in 2021.

“We are now looking for a secretary to ensure the smooth running of the league,” said Fishlock. “All expenses will be paid.”

There is still time to apply for the one vacant place in the league before the competition’s annual meeting net month.

“We ran with seven teams in 2021 with Ashburton finishing up as champions,” said Fishlock.

“Brixham and Ipplepen have withdrawn for 2022 but Cullompton and South Devon have joined.

“Ideally we would like eight teams in two divisions of four with the winners of each playing for the league cup in mid-August.

Contact Harding on 01392 876481, Fulner (01626 872912) or Fishlock (01392 468962) to register an interest in becoming secretary or the league or entering a team.

The annual meeting is booked for November 10 at South Devon CC, Newton Abbot.