Ashburton’s title-winning team: Back (left to right): Gordon Colwill, Dan Coles, Brad Causey, Luke Pascoe, Steve Hulse (umpire), Steve Reynolds and Marcus West; front: Matt Churchill (capt), Phil Pascoe, Jack Warren, A J West, Lloyd White

ASHBURTON defeated Plympton by 231 runs to clinch the South Devon League title.

Devon Medics were top of the seven-team table, but had completed their programme and could do nothing about Ashburton winning their game in hand to move past them.

Ashburton amassed a 40-over total of 322 for two with Lloyd White and Phil Pascoe both helping themselves to centuries before retiring.

There were chip-ins from Brad Causey (27no), Matt Churchill (26) and Gordon Colwill (16no) towards the final total

Plympton were light on batting and had sportingly allowed Ashburton to bat first.

Plympton were dismissed for 91 in reply thanks mainly to A J West, who picked-up his maiden five-wicket haul. His figures were: eight overs, two maidens, five wickets for 20 runs. 

Steve Reynolds (2-24), Luke Pascoe (1-5) Causey (1-19) and Jack Warren (1-20) were the other wicket takers.