Topsham St James celebrate successful season on all fronts


ALL three Topsham St James adult teams finished the 2018 seasons with playing records comfortably in credit.

That was the message delivered by captains Edd Kirby (1st XI), Jack Telford (2nd XI) and ladies’ skipper Hannah Clark during the club’s presentation night at the Globe pub.

All three skippers made short speeches drawing attention to their team’s playing records.

Mark Phillips - 1st XI batsman of the yearThe 1st XI finished fourth in the Tolchards Devon League E Division East, the 2nd XI enjoyed more wins than in any season since 2006 and the ladies finished in third place following their return to Division One of the Devon Women’s League.

Aiden Pring, who made 481 league runs at an average of 53 was the 1st XI player of the season.

The batting award – the Harold Lewis Cup – went to Mark Phillips for his tally of 456 league runs at a hefty average in the low 90s. His 109 against Woodbury & Newton St Cyres was the only ton in a 1st XI league game.

Ross Treleaven collected 1st XI Innings of the Season for striking 55 not out off 56 balls at Exwick on May 26 as the weather was closing in.

Brain Jeary’s haul of three for 15 from nine overs against Honiton in early May was judged the bowling performance of the season.

Bowler of the year and winner of the Evans Cup was Edd Kirby, who bagged 24 wickets at a touch under 18 runs each and had a five-wicket afternoon against Axminster.

2nd XI average topper Adrian FerraroThe President’s Cup was handed over by John Evans to ladies captain Hannah Clark. The Clubman Cup, presented by Charlie Penn, went to Howard Smalley for all his hard work as a colts’ coach.

Adrian Ferraro was the 2nd XI batter of the year, scoring 347 runs at 57.83 and taking an unbeaten 107 off Exwick. Louie Ferraro, Adrian’s 15-year-old son, was the 2nd XI player of the season. 

The 2nd XI bowler of the year with 11 wickets costing 17.36 runs each was Jack Telford.

Ladies XI awards went to Caitlin Pilcher (batting), Clare Pym (bowling) and Jenny Lynch (players’ player). Pilcher made 180 runs at an average in the 60s. Pym’s average-topping 13 wickets including a Devon League hat-trick against Hatherleigh.

Sheila Harding gave a short history of the James Harding Memorial Cup before explaining that, with no Sunday League cricket now being played, it had been decided that, after 15 years being awarded to the Sunday player of the year, it should take on a new identity as a ‘Spirt of Cricket’ Award.  

Topsham Ladies XI players Caitlin Pilcher and Hannah Clark, who both won awardsSheila then presented the cup to 1st XI wicket-keeper Matthew Garner, who had been chosen as a worthy first winner.

Sheila also received something from the club – a new bag to keep all the kit she needs in the scorebox. Her old bag has done sterling service at more than 500 games since she was given it in 2007 and has finally fallen apart.

A separate awards evening at the Bonfire Field clubhouse was held for the colts’ section

Stuart Thorn, as head of colts’ cricket, acted as master of ceremonies and during the evening he and Charlie Penn thanked all the coaches and other helpers for their hard work providing cricket to 118 youngsters.

All those present were given a commemorative medal to mark their participation in matches and training during the past year. 

The principal award winners were: 

Colt of the Year (Govier Cup): Rahul Antony.

U15: Batting: Tom Russell; Bowling: Jerin Tojy; Coach’s Award: Alan Peter.

U14: Batting: Benedict Steele-Flood; Bowling: Callum Kenny; Coach’s Award: Charlie Ferraro.

U12: Batting: Reece Miles, Bowling: Joshua Smalley; Coach’s Award: Jeremy Tojy.

U11: Batting: Joshua Smalley; Bowling: Rohan Antony; Coach’s Award: Noah Codling

U10: Coach’s Award: James O’Connell.