Stokeinteignhead have another go at putting name on Brockmam Cup

Flashback - the 2002 winners: South Devon CC

STOKEINTEIGNHEAD are aiming to go one better than before in tonight’s Brockman Cup final against Paignton 3rd XI at Torquay.

Stoke had never appeared in a final before until last season, when Abbotskerswell defeated them by eight wickets.

Abbots bowled Stoke out for 97 and needed just 12 overs to knock off the runs.

Chris Prestt, the Stoke captain, said his team are a year older and a bit more streetwise going into their second final.

“We felt we didn't put in a performance that we know we are capable of in last year's final,” said Prestt.

“So it's great to be back and hopefully go one better this time round.

“We've had some tight games in the Brockman to get this far, which will put us in a good place.”

Paignton are old hands at winning the Brockman Cup – they won it in 2010, 2013, 2008 and 1994, when a young Chris Read was in the side that defeated Lustleigh.

Terry Farkins, who has played for Barton, Torquay, Babbacombe and Abbotskerswell as well as Devon during a 35-year career, is the captain aiming to take the cup back to Queens Park one more time.

Read went on to great things – County Championships, England caps – and Farkins sees the Brockman Cup as a great place for young cricketers to hone their cricket skills.

“There are a few old heads in our side – myself, Tony Medlock – and seven players aged under 18, “ said Farkins.

“It is the club’s policy to give the youngsters opportunities and let them get on with it.

“We could have brought some of the old lags in, but what is the point?

“As a club we want to move forward, not backwards.”

Start time at the Recreation Ground will be as close to 6pm as the umpires can get the players out.

Admission is free and there is plenty of parking at the pavilion end of the ground.

Paignton: N Wright, H Ward, J Fuller, L Medlock, T Farkins, T Medlock, S Woodcock, A Farkins, C Ward, R Medlock, J Smith. 12th:  B McKee.

Stokeinteignhead: C Prestt, P Russell, A Thornton-Clarke, M Lang, S Shankar, H Longrigg, M Russell, R Putman, O Barnes, P Smye, J Clinkett. 12th: I Lang.