Devon wait on Barrow before naming side for crunch Trophy game

Alex Barrow - late fitness doubt for Devon

DEVON are waiting on a late fitness report from batsman Alex Barrow before naming their final 12 for the Unicorns Trophy pool game against Oxfordshire at Sidmouth on Sunday (11am).

Keith DonohueTom Lammonby, the Exeter all-rounder dual-registered with Somerset this season, has already withdrawn from the provisional 14-man squad to concentrate on his A-level studies.

Barrow hasn’t played for more than a fortnight since twisting an ankle playing in a 2nd XI game for Gloucestershire. The former Somerset staffer has been having try outs with counties after leaving the Taunton roster at the end of last season.

As Barrow scored a half-century the last time he played for Devon, which was in the win over Dorset at Instow, the team management are keen for him to play.

“Alex is a quality player and one we want in the side,” said director of cricket Keith Donohue.

“We are leaving it as late as possible for Alex to decide on his fitness before deciding who is in the final 12.”

Devon can’t afford another slip up in against Oxfordshire after losing to Berkshire at Henley two weeks ago.

Berkshire and Dorset are in the top-two spots that guarantee qualification for the last-eight knockout stages.

Devon have a win and a loss and another defeat will almost certainly end their chances.

Devon  (from): J J Bess (Sidmouth), R J Woodman (Taunton Deane), L J Lewis (Sidmouth), A W B Barrow (Exeter), F R Trenouth (Millfield), M C Golding (Bovey Tracey), B G F Green, T A Lammonby, D M Bess (all Exeter), D R Pyle (Exmouth), S Barlow (Sidmouth), H M Whitlock (Bovey Tracey), D J Goodey (Plymouth), J A Stephens (Falmouth).

Oxfordshire: L M Sabin (Banbury), H G K Smith (Great & Little Tew), T P W Condon (Aston Rowant), J L N Garrett (Great & Little Tew), J A Cater (capt/wk) (Buckingham Town), R I Kaufman (Old Northamptonians), J C R West (Banbury), L C Ryan (Spencer), L M Bethell (Aston Rowant), J O G Thomas (Great & Little Tew), O T M Wright (Banbury). 12th: P P White

Umpires: A J Forward & A J Wheeler.