Brian Chari - one of the overseas stars playing at Bovey Tracey on Sunday<br>credit: Gerry Hunt

ZIMBABWEAN international Brian Chari heads an all-star cast for Sunday’s showpiece match between a Tolchards Devon League Overseas XI and an Invitation XI made up of home-grown players.

Chari, who has played in 11 Tests and 18 one-day internationals, is Bovey Tracey’s contracted overseas player in the Tolchards Devon League this season.

And as Sunday’s game is being played at Bovey Tracey, it wasn’t hard to persuade the hard-hitting batsman to turn out.

Match manager Martin Causey has players from almost every corner of the cricketing globe in the Overseas XI.

The League XI, skippered by Bovey Tracey’s Peter Bradley, has been drawn on clubs from the Premier Division down to the D Division West.

Notorious big hitters Brendon Parr (Cullompton) and Sam Wakeham (Ipplepen) will be sharing a dressing room with Torquay and Devon Lions captain George Allen and ex-Devon all-rounder Bradley.

Tolchards Drinks, the league’s sponsor, has supplied a magnum of champagne as a man-of-the-match award.

The clubhouse television will be tuned to the channel showing the Cricket World Cup final for the benefit of cricket fans who want to be in two places at once on the same day!

The 50-overs-a-side game gets under way at noon

Invitation XI: Brendon Parr (Cullompton), George Allen (Torquay), Jamie Khan (Exeter), James Westlake (Abbotskerswell), Ashley Berry (Ashburton), Lewis Jeffery (Shaldon), Pete Bradley (Bovey Tracey), Jono Colgate (Totnes& Dartington), Sam Wakeham (Ipplepen), Jamie Peters (Babbacombe),Tallan Burns (Bradninch).

Overseas XI: Jimmy Williams (Australia and Abbotskerswell), Arun Chelvan (Australia and Ashburton), Elliot Moses (South Africa and Torquay), Jamal Anwar (Pakistan and Cullompton), Matt Crampton (South Africa and Barton), Brian Chari (Zimbabwe and Bovey Tracey), Phil Snyman (South Africa and Totnes & Dartington), Aiden Phillips (Australia and Ipplepen), Ruben Minnaar (South Africa and Shaldon), Josh Arendse (South Africa and Exeter), Dean Durrant (South Africa and Babbacombe), Dinesh Raheja (India and Ivybridge).

Umpires: Colin W Shute, Mark Pitman.