Topsham's Declan Wardell with the Howard Lewis Cup, which is awarded to the club's 1st XI batsman of the year<br>credit: Contributed

ALL-rounder Declan Wardell was a winner three times over at Topsham St James CC’s end-of-season awards night.

Wardell won the Howard Lewis Cup as 1st XI batsman of the year for his tally of 585 runs for the team in the Tolchards Devon Cricket League.

TSJ's bowler of the season Jamie Matthews (left) receives his award from 1st XI captain Jon SapwellIncluded in Wardell’s statistics was 106 against Clyst Hydon in a D Division East match, which earned him a Century Ball.

With 26 league wickets at an average of less than 14 each, it was no surprise when Wardell was called up to collect the Brewer Cup, which is awarded to the 1st XI player of the season.

The Smalley family also had a good night at the awards eventing, which was hosted at the Rougemont Hotelin central Exeter.

Howard Smalley was the 2nd XI’s batsman of the year and also collected a trophy for scoring a century, in his case a rapid 168 against Chelston & Kingskerswell. Josh Smalley was the 2nd XI player of the year.

The James Harding Memorial Cup, awarded to the person who best embodies the spirit of cricket, went to 1st XI captain Jon Sapwell. The cup was presented by James’ mother Sheila Harding.

There were presentations individually and collectively for the ladies squad, who claimed the Devon Women’s Cricket League Super 8 Plate. Hannah Clarke, the league chair and Topsham player, presented the silverware to team captain Caitlin Rodgers.

The DWCL spirit of cricket award for an under-18 player went to Topsham’s Sophie Brandom.

Other awards included the President’s Cup going to Keri Denton, handed over in person by president Richard Horne and the Stanley Roberts Club Cup to Daniel Croxall.

Sheila Harding’s devotion to the club as scorer administrator for the last 25 years was recognised with the presentation of a bouquet of flowers and a card. Sheila has been the club’s membership secretary and league representative for 16 years as well as secretary for 12 years and long-serving scorer.Caitlin Rodgers (left) collecting the DWCL batting award from Hannah Clarke

A separate presentation evening was held for members of the club’s youth section. Around 140 youngsters and guests turned out for the event held in the pavilion at the University of Exeter Sports Ground where Topsham play their home games.

Presentations were co-ordinated by club chairman Matthew Williams, Harding and various coaches, who spoke about their age groups and announced the awards.

Awards and mementos were handed out by Horne and Daniel Wilkinson of main club sponsors Wilkinson Grant, who have a particular interest in supporting junior cricket.  

The climax of the evening was the presentation of the Percy Govier Cup for the colt of the year to Rowan Tigg.


1st XI: Player of the season (Brewer Cup) Declan Wardell; top batsman (Harold Lewis Cup): Declan Wardell; innings of the season: Declan Wardell; top bowler (Evans Cup): Daniel Armstrong; best bowling performance of the season: James Matthews; century Declan Wardell (106 v Clyst Hydon) 

2nd XI: Player of the season: Josh Smalley; batting award: Howard Smalley; bowling award Gary Salter; centuries Howard Smalley (168 v Chelston & Kingskerswell), Adrian Ferraro (100 v Teignmouth & Shaldon); hat-trick Josh Smalley (v Abbotskerswell)

Ladies XI: Best with bat: Caitlin Rodgers; best with ball Sophie Brandom; players’ player: Lily Harlond; most-improved: Hannah Boote; young player: Olivia Woollam: century Caitlin Rodgers (107 v Taunton Deane). 

President’s Cup: Keri Denton; club cup (Stanley Roberts Cup): Daniel Croxall; spirit of cricket (James Harding Memorial Cup): Jonathan Sapwell, Biggest Hit Trophy (Club Day) Iain Crombie; Al Kiloh Award: Ellie Monro Higgs.

Rowan Tigg (colt of the Year) with Richard Horne (president) and Daniel Wilkinson (main sponsor)