David Post (left) and Doug Yeabsley after being awarded their county caps during Devon's game against Somerset II at Exeter in August 1962. Yeabsley has taken 7-55 in the first innings<br>credit: David Post's scrapbook


ENTRIES have been flooding in for the All-Time Team competition launched by Devon CCC.

The rules are simple: pick a team to represent the county made up of players who have appeared for Devon since 1946 when cricket resumed after World War Two. Your team should have a nominated captain, a recognised wicketkeeper and a 12thman.

Harold ShawFormer Devon and England Lions batsman Andy Pugh also nominated the late Harold Shaw as the scorer in his dream team.

“He was part of it too,” said Pugh.

Players from the 40s and 50s can share team sheet space with successors from teams in the 60s, 70s and beyond!

Barrie Matthews, whose 12-season reign as captain was the longest of any skipper during the post-war period, was among the first to get his entry in.

David Post, who played in the 50s and 60s, was another hot off the mark.

And Neil Hancock, who led the county side in 2010 and 2011, has also scribbled down a team.

“I am pretty sure the team would have won more games than it lost,” said a confident Hancock.

Devon officials are still working on prizes for the best entry, but have been promised a bottle of Champagne by sponsors Tolchards Drinks for winner to toast their team.

When you have selected your All-Time Team, email it to conradcopy@btinternet.com

Hundreds of players have represented Devon since 1946 and, inevitably, knowledge of some players will be vague. Keep an eye on devoncricket.co.uk for teams of the decade from the 1940s onwards, with briefing notes designed to jog a few memories.

Devon against Berkshire at Reading School in August 1961. Back (left to right): Bob Fetherstonhaugh, Andy Davis, Peter Atkinson, Doug Yeabsley, David Post, Graham Tripp, Peter Heard, David Shepherd, Derek Pring, Tom Kerslake. Front: Gerald Trump, Derek Cole, Deryck Fairclough, John Bonner