Ben Morgan (right) with the B Division trophy

SIDBURY marked their return to the Tolchards Devon League after an absence of   16 years by winning their division with a 100 per cent record.

Sidbury's Mark BishopSidbury, who had three previous summers in the league between 2001-02, had to start at the bottom in the H Division East.

Next season the club will be in the G Division after winning all 13 games played on their way to promotion.

Early order batsman Mark Bishop was one of Sidbury’s heaviest run scorers in the promotion campaign, scoring 454 runs at an average of nearly 42. He went along to the league’s annual meeting in Exeter to collect the championship trophy from Jim Mardell of sponsors Tolchards Drinks.

Sidmouth’s Alex Barrow was named Tolchards Devon Cricket League player of the year for his run-scoring exploits in the Premier Division. Maurice Beviss with Kilmington's award

Barrow, who scored three tons and nine 50s on his way to more than 1,100 runs in 18 games, was unable to attend in person so Charlie Dibble collected the award on his behalf.

Sidmouth’s pitch, lovingly tended by Colin Whitehall, won the Premier Division umpires’ marking award for the best playing arena. Dibble took that award home too.

SEATON captain Ben Morgan finally got his hands on the silverware at the Tolchards Devon Cricket League annual meeting in Exeter.

Seaton, after a couple of near misses, clinched promotion as B Division champions at the end of the 2019 season.

Morgan and the team will be back in the A Division next summer for the first time since 2006.

Kilmington won the B Division pitch award which is given to the team with the highest marks totted up over a season by panel umpires.

Chairman Maurice Beviss collected the trophy on behalf of the club.