Left to right are Ashburton award winners Jerry Crouch, Jake Pascoe, Vernon Coon, Freddie Harvey, Tom Rush, Ashley Berry and Toby Pascoe

JAKE Pascoe’s debut season performances in the Ashburton 1stXI earned the 14 year old a top accolade at the club’s awards evening.

Pascoe collected the prestigious Captain's Cup award for making 321 runs opening the batting, a total that included a top score of 91 against Yelverton Bohemians.

Martin Causey (left) with 1st XI skipper and award winner Ashley BerrySkipper Ashley Berry, at the other end from Pascoe on numerous occasions during the season, was impressed by what he saw.

“Jake’s enthusiasm and passion for the game has shone through and he has adapted to senior cricket as if he has been there for years,” said Berry.

Berry certainly had a good look at Pascoe in action while the pair were putting on 113 against Yelverton. The skipper made 105 not out in that game, which helped him reach 566 runs for the season in the Tolchards Devon League C Division West.

Berry won the 1stXI batting award, narrowly pipping Lloyd White (554) for the prize, and was also voted players’ player of the year. Martin Causey, a 1stXI fixture at Ashburton, said Berry’s awards were richly deserved.

“These awards only tell half the story in relation to his commitment and leadership to the club,” said Causey.

“He is consistently the first one down at the ground on a Saturday to undergo pitch preparations and his leadership and form with the bat just gets better every year.”

Bowler of the year in the 1stXI was Will Coon (28 wickets @ 25.11), who finished ahead of Matt Churchill (27 @ 27.48), Arun Karthick (22 wickets) and Steve Edmonds (20).

Karthick, Ashes’ overseas player, had already flown back to Australia and was not able to collect the all-rounder award in person. He scored 312 runs.

Marcus West (306 runs), enjoying a new lease of life as a batsman after decades bearing the brunt of the bowling attack, was the 2ndXI batter.

West filled in for absent skipper Nick Yabsley by handing out the 2ndXI awards.

Robin Lambert again led the bowling effort with 27 wickets at 20.22. Freddie Harvey (18 @ 23.39), Jerry Crouch (15 @36.07) and West (11 @ 29.09) all chipped in. Jerry Crouch (right) who shared the 2nd XI Captain's Cup with Freddie Harvey

Chairman Crouch and youngster Harvey, at 14 another of the club’s promising youngsters, shared the Captain’s Cup.

Rookie Harvey excelled with the ball, including a spell of four for 16 against Chudleigh when he claimed four of the top six. 

Toby Pascoe claimed players’ player in the 2ndXI and Tom Rush was named all-rounder of the season and most-improved player. The Duck Cup went to Matt Churchill.

The chairman’s award for clubman of the year went jointly to Dave and Alison Churchill. Among the many voluntary jobs they look after is running the bar.

“The work that Dave and Alison put in is invaluable,” said Crouch. 

“The bar is always stocked, the clubhouse always looks tidy and knowing they are always there for the club is fantastic. 

The club is very fortunate to have such hard-working assets and their award is much deserved.”

Jean and Megan Pascoe, Vernon Coon, Steve and Mel Harvey, Alan Churchill, Crouch and the Churchills were all recognised for their voluntary roles.

More than 60 members marked the passing of another season over dinner at the Dartmoor Lodge in Asburton.

Ashburton 1stXI were runners-up for the second time in three seasons in the C Division West. The 2ndXI won three of their last four games to finish a comfortable sixth in F West. 

Award winners

1st XI batsman: Ashley Berry; bowler: William Coon; Captain’s Cup:  Jake Pascoe; players’ player: Ashley Berry; all-rounder: Arun Chelvan.

2nd XI batsman: Marcus West; bowler: Robin Lambert; Captain’s Cup: Jerry Crouch and Freddie Harvey; players’ player: Toby Pascoe; 2nd XI all-rounder- Tom Rush; most-improved player 2019: Tom Rush.

Duck Cup: Matt Churchill (six ducks); chairman’s award (clubman of the year): Alison and Dave Churchill.

Left and right flanking Ashley Berry are valuable volunteers Megan Pascoe and Jean Pascoe