Bryon Knowles and Daley Holmes, who shared Sidmouth 2nd XI's bowling award. The presentor is Richard Brice of Devon County Sports

SIDMOUTH celebrated two league titles and a near miss at their annual dinner and awards evening.

Luke Bess, in his third and final season as team captain, led the 1st XI to the Premier Division title in the Tolchards Devon League.

Josh Bess receiving Sidmouth 1st XI batting awardThe third team, variously skippered by Saj Patidar, Fionn Wardrop, Miles Dalton and Graham Munday, won promotion as F Division East champions.

The odd-ones out were Anthony Griffiths’ second team, who were runners up behind Kilmington in the C Division East.

There was plenty to celebrate after dinner in the Bedford Hotel, which is literally a six-hit away from Sidmouth’s home on the Fortfield next door.

Josh Bess, the former Devon captain who stood down from that job at the end of last season, won the club’s batting award with 611 league runs at an average of 43.64. He scored 134 on the last day of the season in the win over Exmouth that clinched the Premier title.Jashan Patidar - Sidmouth's. leading 3rd XI batsman in 2019

Bowler of the year for the Premier-winning team was Will Murray, whose 29 wickets at 21.31 trumped spinner Charlie Miles (27 @ 20.19) by a whisker.

Issac Thomas walked of with the second-team batting prize having made 748 runs at an average of 57.54. His top score was 210 in a stand with Griffiths of 224 in the derby clash with Budleigh Salterton 2nd XI.

Bryon Knowles and Daley Holmes, who took 24 wickets each, shared the 2nd XI bowling award.

3rd XI bowling awards winner Jordan Fowler collecting his award from Wes Fowler of Devon County SportsJashan Patidar, the 17-year-old son of Saj, made 372 runs at an average in the low 40s to win the 3rd XI batting award. The Exeter School pupil struck a maiden league century in the win over Upottery.

Jordan Fowler, with 26 wickets at 8.4 each, was the bowling award winner.

Skipper Griffiths, a still spritely despite fast approaching his 46th birthday, won the club’s fielding award for taking 17 catches. He was also clubman of the year.

The players’ player award went to Cape Cobras star Aviwe Mgijima, who scored 473 runs and took 26 wickets in league games.

Guests of honour at the event were Richard Brice and Wes Fowler of sponsors Devon County Sports.