BARTON wrapped up the South Devon T20 season in convincing fashion with a nine-wicket win over Abbotskerswell in the Dick Lear Cup game at Torquay.

The late Dick LearThe Dick Lear Cup remembers a former Torquay and Kingskerswell CC player and official who was part of the local cricket scene for the best part of 50 years.

Back in the 1960s and 1970s the winners of the Narracott and Brockman cups traditionally played each other for the Kendall Meek Trophy. That fixture became dormant some years ago.

Competition managers from the Brockman and what is now the Aaron Printers Cups thought it would be a good idea to revive the tradition under a new name. No one seems to know who actually has the Kendall Meek Trophy now!

Abbotskerswell, who won the 2ndXI-focussed Brockman Cup, were up against Aaron Printers Cup winners Barton in the inaugural game.

Seven days earlier on the South Devon ground at Newton Abbot, Barton 1stXI defeated Abbotskerswell 2ndXI by nine wickets in the Aaron Printers Cup final.

Abbots were able to field their 1stXI in the Dick Lear Cup game, but the outcome was the same: a nine-wicket win for Barton.

Nick Watkin hit an unbeaten half-century for Abbots in their total of 108 for seven.

Unsurprisingly, Jon Martin (3-15) and Stuart Bowker (2-20) were hard to get away.

Barton raced to victory with seven of their 20 overs to go.

Shaun Needham opened up with 45, leaving Jack Porter (27no) and Simon Edwards (24no) to finish the task.