Marcel Massey of sponsors Aaron Printers pulls the first ball out of the hat for the 2018 competition draw

HOLDERS Ipplepen face a trip to Shaldon in the first round of this summer’s Aaron Printers T20 Cup competition.

Stoke Gabriel, last season’s beaten finalists, have a bye in the first round. They are at home to Bovey Tracey in round two.

New comers Ashburton start off at home to Paignton 2nd XI. The winners of that game will entertain Torquay in the next round

The first team out of the hat were South Devon, who will be at home to Dartington & Totnes on May 10.

A week later on May 17 there is a derby game between Babbacombe and Barton at Walls Hill.

Barton have won the cup more times than any other club. The first of their 11 wins was in 1951, which was the inaugural year of the competition.

The draw was made in his Newton Abbot shop by Marcel Massey of competition sponsors Aaron Printers, who have backed the competition since 2005. 


FIRST ROUND: South Devon v Dartington & Totnes – May 10; Paignton v Ashburton – May 17; Abbotskerswell v Chelston & Kingskerswell – May 24; Shaldon v Ipplepen – May 31; Babbacombe v Barton – June 5. 

Byes: Bovey Tracey, Stoke Gabriel and Torquay.

SECOND ROUND: Stoke Gabriel v Bovey Tracey – May 31 postponed, rearranged for June 7); South Devon v Abbotskerswell - May 31; Paignton  v Torquay – June 7; Ipplepen v Barton – June 14.

SEMI-FINALS (to be played at neutral venues)

June 20: Paignton v Barton at Abbotskerswell CC.

June 27: Bovey Tracey v Abbotskerswell at Paignton CC.

FINAL: South Devon CC, Thursday, July 5.