THE Brockman Cup XI did it again when they defeated the Aaron Printers Cup XI by eight wickets in the annual battle for the Dick Lear Cup.

The cup remembers the late Dick Lear, who played and umpired for Torquay and Kingskerswell for more than 40 years.

He played in both midweek competitions and was a Brockman Cup winner with Torquay in 1977. He died in 2010.

David Lear, Dick’s son, skippered the Aaron Printers Invitation XI, who were bowled out for 88 before the end of their 20 overs.

James Fulner (Abbotskerswell) made a top score of 37 and Toby Codd a dozen for the Invitation XI.

Rory Medlock spun his way to four wickets for six runs – a performance that won him the man-of-the-match award from adjudicator Tim Chapman.

Cup winners Paignton supplied the entire Brockman Cup team and won at a gallop.

Tristan Coetzee made 20 at the top of the order, only to fall to fellow South African Cody Gertze (2-16).

Harry Ward (31no) and Noah Wright (27no) knocked off the remaining runs with more than four overs to go.

That’s three on the trot for the Brockman Cup winners now in the contest between sides representing the two Midweek cup competition winners.

From next season it is planned to revert to the old format of the two winning teams playing off for the Dick Lear Cup, rather than representative sides.

Aaron Printers Cup XI 88 (J Fulner 37,T Codd 12; R Medlock 4-6, T Coetzee 2-15), Brockman Cup XI 90-2 (H Ward 31no, N Wright 27no,T Coetzee 20; C.Getz 2-16). Brockman Cup XI bt Aaron Printers by 8 wkts.