Abbotskerswell heading for showdown with Barton in Aaron Printers Cup final

Flashback! Abbotskerswell captain Robin Pugh receives the old Narracott Cup from Roxanne Narracott after his side defeated Barton in the 1966 final. Members of both teams are in the photo

Semi-final scorecard

ABBOTSKERSWELL stormed into the final of the Aaron Printers Cup with a thumping 64-run win over Bovey Tracey 2ndXI.

Last season’s beaten finalists will be aiming to go all the way this time when they meet Barton at South Devon CC in the final on Thursday, July 5 (6pm).

Abbots, who were invited to bat first, totted up a hefty 156 all out in the last of their 20 overs.

Opener Sam Johnston led the way by cracking 77 of just 36 balls – seven sixes, six fours – and took the score up to 143 for four. James Westlake (23) and Elliott Adams (21) chipped in.

Bovey’s Ollie Clifford-Bourne removed Johnston and Adams on his way to a three-for-32 haul.

Bovey were in trouble at four for three in the second over and lost wickets regularly on the slide to 44 for six then 45 for nine.

The game was long lost by then, but Bovey didn’t take it lying down. Clifford-Bourne smote three fours and two sixes while making 26 off 10 balls.

Last man Chris Yabsley made 14 not out as he and Clifford-Bourne put on 47 for the final wicket.

Man of the match Johnston came back for a second spell to break the stand and finish with figures of five for eight. Charlie Smout-Cooper took four for 17 in his four overs.

Barton have won the competition, previously known as the Narracott Cup and the Midas Shield on 11 occasions – more than anyone else. Paignton (10) and Cockington (8) are next in rank.

The last time Barton won the cup was in 1975 when they defeated Babbacombe in the final.

Abbotskerswell have three previous wins to their name: 1966, 1993 and, most recently, 2009 when Bovey Tracey were defeated at Barton.

Start time at South Devon is 6pm. A barbecue will be fired up once the game gets under way.

Abbotskerswell: J Westlake, S Johnston, C Smout Cooper, E Adams, C Adams, E Smout Cooper, S Carpenter, D Cowdry, B Cowdry, T Heath, G Catley.

Barton: S Bowker, M Lipton, S Needham, M Crampton, M Harford, A Hele, N Beech, J Bell, A Wilson, A Parker, A Hunt.

Umpires: Tim Chapman & Jim Hicken.