Barton first team through to this season's Aaron Printers Cup final

Barton, the first team through to this season’s Aaron Printers Cup final. Back (left to right): Jon Martin, Shaun Needham, Alex Hunt, Adrian Lipton, Stuart Bowker and Mark Gilmour. Front: Matt Crampton, Matt Lipton, Angus Wilson, Nathan Beech and Morgan Harford

BARTON are the first team through to the final of this season’s Aaron Printers T20 Cup after a comprehensive seven-wicket win over Paignton in the last four.

Paignton were held to 94 for nine in their 20 overs at Abbotskerswell – Charlie Ward top scoring with 17 not out. Next best with 15 was opener Noah Wright.

Barton’s bowlers kept the lid on Paignton’s batters with left-arm spinners Stuart Bowker and Matt Crampton tought to score against.

Morgan Harford deserved a wicket for bowling four overs at a cost of just 10 runs.

Barton went off in hot pursuit with Crampton and Mark Gilmour setting a blistering pace.

When Gilmour, who clubbed 32 in boundaries in his 39, was caught going of another big hit, Paignton spinner Sam Woodock had just gone for 27 in an over.

Crampton cruised to 34 not out as Barton eased past the target early in the 13thover.

Waiting for Barton in the final at South Devon CC on July 5 will be either Bovey Tracey II or Abbotskerswell, who meet at Queens Park, Paignton tonight (Wednesday).

No one has won the Aaron Printers Cup more times than Barton. The first of their 11 wins was in the inaugural final back in 1951. The last of those wins was way back in 1975.

Paignton II 94 (C Ward 17, N Wright 15, M Crampton 3-14, M Gilmour 2-13), Barton 98-3 (M Crampton 34no, M Gilmour 39). Barton bt Paignton II by 7 wkts.