Devon make late changes to squad for T20 double dates with Cornwall and Dorset

Rob Woodman, who has withdrawn from the Devon squads for this weekend

DEVON have made a couple of late changes for the Unicorns T20 Cup double dates against Cornwall and Dorset.

Cornwall are the opposition at Truro today. Dorset play Devon at Sidmouth tomorrow.

Devon originally named different squads for both legs of their double-header due to availability issues. 

Finlay Trenouth - drafted inThe original 13-man squad named for the outing to Truro has lost opening batsman Rob Woodman and all-rounder Tom Lammonby.

Woodman, the former England U19 and Somerset all-rounder, has made himself unavailable until further notice.

Lammonby, a current England U19 rising star and Somerset Academy scholar, has taken time off to revise for his looming A-levels. He will be in Monday's team to face Dorset.

Sidmouth skipper Luke Bess comes into the squad on both days, joining brother Zac.

Devon had named 15 for the Dorset match before Woodman dropped out. Luke Bess is again the nominated replacement.

The shorter form of the game has got somewhat longer with all 20 Minor Counties having four group days with two back-to-back games against the same opponent, separated by a 45-minute lunch interval. 

The four group winners will go through to a finals days at Wormsley on August 26.

The new competition takes place on days freed up by scaling down the 50-over Unicorns Trophy, which used to be played on a group basis leading to a knockout last eight.

The Minor Counties management trialled a similar T20 competition in 2015, which was well received by players and spectators.

Devon reached the finals day at Banbury, where they lost in the last four to eventual winners Cheshire.

Dorset have a double does of dates too as they entertain Wiltshire at Bashley today.

Meanwhile, Torquay pace bowler Kazi Szymanski, who is part of the Glamorgan Academy, has been named in the Wales squad of 12 for their T20 game  against Cornwall tomorrow.

Cornwall (squad): M H Rowe (Henley-on-Thames), S K W Wood (Plumtree), T C Rowe (Kimberley Institute), P D Trego (Weston), M L Robins (Werrington), P S Smith (Werrington), K J Snell (Truro), C J Miles (Truro), J R Turpin (Wadebridge), S A Harvey (wk) (Truro), N M Pobega (Penzance), T J Dinnis (Werrington).

Devon v Cornwall: M W Thompson (St Fagins), L J Lewis (Sidmouth), B G F Green (Exeter), Z G G Bess (Sidmouth), G R Chappell (Bradninch), P J Randerson (Heathcoat), J H Gibbs (North Devon), S Barlow (Sidmouth), J A Stephens (Falmouth), J C Gore (Exeter), T J R Codd (Bovey Tracey), L F O Bess (Sidmouth), F R Trenouth (Bristol).

Devon v Dorset: M W Thompson (St Fagins), L J Lewis (Sidmouth), A W R Barrow T A Lammonby (both Exeter), Z G G Bess (Sidmouth), G R Chappell (Bradninch), P J Randerson (Heathcoat), J H Gibbs (North Devon), J E Thompson (Congresbury), S Barlow (Sidmouth), J A Stephens (Falmouth), J C Gore (Exeter), G Benton (Paignton), T J R Codd (Bovey Tracey), L F O Bess (Sidmouth).

Dorset: S W Currie (Hampshire Academy), B J Currie (Bashley (Rydall), Somerset II), J G Digby (Bashley Rydall), M T C Waller (Bridgwater), E J Ellis (St Cross & Symondians), L A Webb (High Wycombe), A J Eckland (North Perrott), J K H Naik (Sileby), T J Robinson (Poole), M A Wolstenholme (Northampton Saints), B J Walker (Totton & Ealing), C L Park (Bournemouth, J I McCoy (Havant).

Umpires: J S Attridge & G I Callaway.