Bess batters bowling on way to Sidmouth's run-scoring award

Bobby Marshall of Sidmouth CC sponsors Harrison Lavers & Potburys presents the raffle-prize bat to Charlie Dibble


SIDMOUTH said farewell to a modest 2017 season at their annual dinner and awards night.

The Bedford Hotel next door to the ground was a new venue for the evening out, previously held in the club pavilion.

Sidmouth are used to celebrating either 1st XI league titles or cup wins in recent seasons, but that cupboard was bare in 2017.

The one league title won was the Premier 2nd XI championship in the last season of that competition. Sidmouth have been Premier Two champions four times in the last five seasons.

Batter by far! Sidmouth's leading league run getter, county captain Josh BessIndividuals has fine seasons, none more so than Devon captain Josh Bess, who claimed the 1st XI batting award. Bess bashed six 50s and two centuries on his way to 737 Premier runs at an average of 56.69.

The 1st XI bowling award was presented to Scott Barlow, who took 26 wicktets.

The redoubtable Charlie Dibble – 53 and still wheeling away in the 2nd XI – won the 2nd XI bowling award with a haul of 34 wickets at 9.97.

Dibble held on to the award between 2012-2015 before losing it to Daley Holmes. He has now won it eight times since 2005.

Isaac Thomas with 457 league runs at 30.47 picked up the 2nd XI batting honour. Ahead of Declan Lines (57.67) and Anthony Griffith (115), who had better averages but fewer runs.

Jordan Fowler (29 at 9.96) received the 3rd XI bowling honour with Graham Munday 400 at 66.67 taking home to the 3rd XI batting award.

The club fielder of the year trophy went to Isaac Thomas, while Tom Moore (292 runs in all games), picked up the young player award. 

Speeches were given on behalf of each of the three teams by Luke Bess, Nick Mansfield and Rob Fowler. During those speeches, Champagne moments of the season were awarded for each team to the following: the third XI award went to John Goodwin for travelling from Heathrow to play only to find that he wasn’t keeping wicket!

The 2nd XI award went to Fionn Wardrop for sending Anthony Dibble from slip to fine leg to allow batsmen and fielders some respite from his unique brand of sledging.

The 1st XI award went to Anthony Griffiths for his celebrations when catching old foe Bobby Dawson from Exmouth. 

Matt and Kate Cooke were named winners of the club person award and the player’s player honour went to Josh Bess.

Matt and Kate Cooke’s contribution in 2017 is particularly worth mentioning.  At a time when cricket as a whole is struggling with declining player numbers, Matt and Kate led two initiatives that brought large numbers of new players into the club. 

Kate organised Wine and Wickets, which saw upwards of 25 ladies enjoying Friday evening training and Sunday softball festivals.

Matt took ownership of the All Stars, tempting 67 five - to eight-year-olds to start their cricketing life at Sidmouth.

The evening also saw a successful raffle with the prize being a bat donated by Devon County Sports, which raised more than £100 for club funds. The winner was Charlie Dibble, whose current bat has done yeoman service for more than 30 summers.