New format for Corrie Cup as qualifying goes into pools

Seaton skipper Ben Morgan and his Corrie Cup winning team
Seaton skipper Ben Morgan and his Corrie Cup winning team

HOLDERS Seaton face a re-run of last season’s semi-final in the 2018 edition of the new-look Ivor Dewdney’s Corinthian Cup.

Seaton defeated Ipplepen by 10 wickets on the way to a showdown with Cullompton on finals day at Shaldon.

The competition has been facelifted for 2018 and will open with a series of three-team festivals.

Seaton have been put in pool one, which is being hosted by Ipplepen. Feniton make up the pool.

Cullompton, last season’s defeated finalists, are grouped with Woodbuy & Newton St Cyres and Shaldon

The full list of entrants (host club first) is:

Pool One: Ipplepen, Seaton, Feniton.

Pool Two: Shobrooke Park, Alphington, Babbacombe.

Pool Three: Honiton, Ottery, Uplyme.

Pool Four: Plymstock, Brixham. Dartington & Totnes.

Pool Five: Woodbury, Cullompton, Shaldon.

Pool Six: Topsham, Barton, Lustleigh.

Pool Seven: Upottery, Kentisbeare, Whitchurch.

The quarter-finals will be played on August 5. The seven pool winners will be joined by a wild-card best runner-up, selected points then net run rate.

The semi-finals and finals will be held at North Devon CC on Sunday, August 26. A reserve date of September 8 has been agreed in case of bad weather.