Best bowling performance of the season celebrated at South Devon CC awards night

South Devon CC president Chris Hart (left) hands the Tony Richardson Cup to James Allen

THE best bowling performance in the Tolchards Devon League last summer was celebrated at South Devon CC’s end-of-season awards evening.

Spin bowler James Allen, who turned 20 this year, has worked his way through the youth system at South Devon to reach the 1st XI.

All-rounder of the year Dinesh RahejaAllen’s bowling return of eight for 12 against Stoke Gabriel was the best across all 16 divisions of the league during the entire season.

It was a new league record for the C Division West and the second best bowling figures for South Devon since they joined the Devon League in 1972,

Jack Neville’s nine for 36 from 17 overs against Heathcoat in 1987 remains South Devon’s best bowling return of all time in the league.

Allen is now second in the all-time list, ousting Dave Webber, who had eight for 14 against Plymstock way back in 1977.

Other bowlers to have taken eight wickets for South Devon in league games are Neville (8-25), the late Gary Bowles (8-41), Bill Jordan (also 8-41) and John Laister, who had 8-45 and 8-60 in the 1989 season.

Allen collected three awards from club president Chris Hart: The Tony Richardson Cup for player of the year, the Bill Dalton Cup for the best performance and the Gary Bowles Trophy for the leading wicket taker. He took 28 in all matches.

Richard Beaumont with the Committee CupThe awards were handed out after the club dinner, which was hosted by Dainton Park Golf Club.

South Devon had a  poor season in the league – the 1st and 2nd XIs were both relegated – but there were some good things too.

Shaun Taylor was man of the season for the 2nd XI, taking 21 wickets at 19.14 each and topping the batting averages with 276 at exactly 23. He won the Len Coldwell Cup for player of the year and the Mick Jones Cup as leading wicket taker.

The W G Lewis Cup for the best all-rounder was won by Dinesh Raheja, who scored 453 runs at an average of more than 50 and took 13 wickets.

Colts who impressed were Morgan Hargreaves – best young cricketer – most improved Colt Josh Hammett and colts club award winner Jay Moulton.

Tony Richardson Trophy: James Allen (Player of the Year); Len Coldwell Cup: Shaun Taylor (2nd XI Player of the Year); Simon Chambers Cup: Morgan Hargreaves (Best Young Cricketer); Bill Dalton Cup: James Allen (Best Performance); W G Lewis Cup: Dinesh Raheja  (Best All Rounder); Mick Jones Cup: Shaun Taylor (Leading 2nd XI Wicket Taker); Tim Bounden Cup: Josh Hammett (Most Improved Colt); Committee Trophy: Richard Beaumont (Most Exciting Innings); Stoke Gabriel.

Best young cricketer Morgan Hargreaves accepting his trophy from Chris Hart