Ashburton still smiling despite promotion near miss

Tristan Wakefield receiving Ashburton

THEY may have missed out on promotion from the C Division West by a handful of points, but there was still plenty to celebrate at Ashburton’s end-of-season awards night.

More than 70 club players and family members turned out at the Dartmoor Lodge for the annual bash.Lloyd White receives the batting award from Ashley Berry

First team awards, presented by skipper Ashley Berry, went to Lloyd White (batting and players’ player – 698 runs at 49.86), Dom Durman (bowling – 28 wickets at 11.71), Tristan Wakefield (all-rounder – 612 runs at 47.08 and 16 wickets at 21.06) and Martin Causey (Captain’s Cup).

Second team bowling star Jerry CrouchWhite’s double century against Plymouth CSR on the final day of the season as it made him the first player in league history to score two double tons.

White set the best individual score in the C Division West against CS&R

Ashburton’s total of 515 for six in the same game was a record for any division in the league.

The second team awards, presented by outgoing captain Chris Yeo, and 2018 captain Marcus West. They went to Kevin Nicholls (batting – 357 runs at 51), Captain's Cup winner Martin CauseyJerry Crouch (bowling – 21 wickets at 17.52), West (all-rounder – nine wickets at 25.22), Tom Rush (players’ player) and Jack Churchill (Captain’s Cup).

 Sunday XI awards went to Niall Kemp (performance of the Year with 5-11 including four wickets in an over), Jake Bartram (all-Rounder), Oscar Gillies (Captain's Cup), Toby Cowdry (batsman), Tom Fursdon (players’ player) and Ashton West (bowler).

Most-improved player was to Jake Pascoe and the Clubman’s Trophy (awarded by the Chairman) went jointly to Mel Harvey, Alison Churchill and Karen Broom in recognition of the huge amount of work they do behind the scenes for the club.