Phillips and Armstrong take two awards at Topsham St James awards evening

Topsham 2017. Back (left to right): Sheila Harding (scorer), Mark Phillips, Brian Jeary, Dan Armstrong, Matt Garner,  Joe Embery Charlie Penn. Front: Sam Warren, Aiden Pring, Edd Kirby, Ed Baxter, Rahul Antony

MARK Phillips was a winner twice over at Topsham St James’ end-of-season awards evening.

Phillips won the Harold Lewis Cup as the leading batsman in 1st XI cricket with four 50s and two scores of 99 in an aggregate of 504 runs. His 99s were against Kentisbeare and Halberton & Sampford Peverell.

With 18 wickets at 16.89 runs each, Phillips also claimed the Brewer Cup as the player of the season.

Innings of the season went to Dan Armstrong for his 68 off 97 balls against Halberton & Sampford Peverell.

Armstrong and Mark Phillips shared a stand of 158 that enabled TSJ to win a game against a team above them in the table.

Bowler of the season and winner of the Evans Cup was Brian Jeary with 19 at 12.63 each. His season’s best was five for 18 against Tiverton.

Edd Kirby, who had five for 27 also against Tiverton, was credited with the bowling performance of the summer. He also won the Clubman Cup.

Second team awards went to player of the season Usman Sheikh (11wkts@18.5), batter Mike Davison (223@24.78) and bowler Maddy Ross (9wkts@30).

Sunday player of the year and winner of the James Harding Memorial Cup was also Dan Armstrong.

Chairman Charlie Penn was awarded the President’s Cup.

Ladies awards went to Ameila Sydenham (batting) and Sally Hammond, who was bowler and of the season and players’ player.

The awards were handed out at the club’s presentation night hosted in at the Globe in Topsham.

Colts awards were handed out during a separate awards night staged in the clubhouse at Bonfire Field.

U15: Best Batsman: (Zac Burnard); Best Bowler: (Rahul Antony); Coach’s Award: (William Moulton).

U13: Best Batsman: (Benedict Steele-Flood); Best Bowler: (Rhys Norman); Coach’s Award: (Zack Chandler-Thorn.

U12: Best Batsman: (Tom Russell); Best Bowler: (Billy Knightley); Coach’s Award: (Charlie Ferraro); Girls Coach’s Award: Nancy Leather).

U11: Best Batsman: (Jeremy Tojy); Best Bowler: (Billy Knightley); Coach’s Awards: (Joshua Smalley).

U10: Best Batsman: (Noah Codling); Best Bowler: (Gethin Williams); Coach’s Award: (Ikey Wilkinson).

Colt of the Year (Govier Cup) – Jasper Rockey.