Donohue asks players to maintain high standards set against Cheshire

Jack Dart - back from New Zealand and restored to the Devon side

DEVON’S players have the tough task of matching the performance that brought an eight-wicket win over Cheshire when the Championship season resumes against Wiltshire at Salisbury.

Keith Donohue, Devon’s director of cricket, described the win over Cheshire at the time as one of the best in the five seasons he has been in charge.

Two weeks on Donohue is sticking to that view – and added a couple of embellishments.

Keith DonohueHaving bowled out Cheshire twice to set up a fourth-innings run chase, Devon showed what they are capable of when the team fires on all cylinders.

“In the past we have had brilliant days and great sessions, but never have we dominated from first ball to last the way we did against Cheshire,” said Donohue.

“As the game went on a win became matter of fact before the end.

“We put right all the things that went wrong in the first two games. We did it on a good cricket wicket at Sidmouth, a ground we like playing on.

“The question now is can we do it again and do it away from home?

“If we win this one the last two games of the season could be interesting…”

Devon are lodged in the peleton behind top two Berkshire and Shropshire with three games to play and 72 points up for grabs.

Devon’s last two games are against Shropshire then Berkshire, so making up lost ground is possible. Not that Donohue is thinking quite that far ahead.

“We have only one game so far so let’s not get carried away,” said Donohue.

Opener Tom Ansell – 77 and 22 on his debut against Cheshire – keeps his place in the side.

Ex-Somerset batsman Alex Barrow is selected, but will be released if Gloucestershire 2nd XI ask for him, as they did before the Cheshire game.

Batters Joe Thompson and Jack Dart are added. Luke Bess drops out. Dan Goodey replaces injured paceman Hugo Whitlock in the XII.

Wiltshire: J C W Arney, S F G Bullen, N J Clark, B Cookson, J Goodwin, P J Grieshaber, J M King, M D Reynolds, T G Afridi, W J Wade, E G C Young, J B Lintott. 12th: H Latham.

Devon (from): T P P Ansell (North Devon), L J Lewis (Sidmouth), A W R Barrow (Exeter), M W Thompson (St Fagans), J J Bess (Sidmouth), M C Golding (Bovey Tracey), J F S Dart (Heathcoat), Z G G Bess (Sidmouth), J E Thompson (Torquay), D J Goodey (Plymouth), J A Stephens (Falmouth), J V King (North Devon). 12th” T R J Codd.

Umpires: A J Wheeler& S J Malone.