Devon bring in Torquay opener Mitch Pugh for Truro T20 after Burke pulls out

James Burke - not available for Truro trip

THERE’S a serious side to tomorrow’s triangular Twenty20 tournament between Cornwall, Devon and Somerset 2nd XI at Truro.

There should be plenty of fun cricket of the crash-bang-wallop variety from 10.30 am onwards when the hosts take on Devon.

The running order is Devon v Somerset then Cornwall v Somerset. The overall winners will walk away with the Treleavens Trophy, donated by the Cornish ice-cream manufacturer sponsoring the tournament.

Mitch Pugh at the non-striker's endWith the T20 season just around the corner, Somerset are having a look at some staffmen likely to feature, such as Jim Allenby, Max Waller, Ryan Davies and Michael Leask.

Some of the young guns – England U19 trio George Bartlett, Ben Green and Tom Banton – are also in Somerset’s squad.

And the generation behind that, which includes schoolboys Joe Gore and Finlay Trenouth, is also represented.

Somerset are treating it seriously enough to send former Aussie Test star Chris Rogers, now batting coach at Taunton, to the match and as 50-over skip Allenby to lead the side.

For Devon the serious element is starting to think about a revived Minor Counties T20 competition.

Although nothing is definite yet, a proposal is floating round to bring T20 cricket back and play it on days previously used for group games in the 50-over Unicorns Trophy, which would revert to a straight knockout.

Devon were beaten semi-finalists in the last Minor Counties T20 and team chief Keith Donohue would like to see the competition return.

“It is a format the players like and a tournament like this is a chance to look at players who may well feature and see where their strengths and weaknesses lie.”

Devon have had to make a late change as James Burke has withdrawn. Torquay’s Mitch Pugh comes in to bat high.

Cornwall are there to win the tournament, no iffs or buts.

“This isn’t a muck about – we are there to win,” said director of cricket Godfrey Furse.

“People are paying money to watch us and we want to send our Cornish supporters home happy.

“We think we have a strong side out, plus some young players like Tom Sturgess and Tom Dinnis who I expect will be eager to impress.”

Admission is £10 on the gate. Parking will be available on Truro’s second team pitch adjacent to Boscawen Park.

Cornwall: M L Robins, N S Curnow, B L Wadlan, G M Smith, M H Gribble, S A Harvey, A S Ridd, T J Dinnis, A C Libby, L P Goldsworthy, K J Snell, T G Sturgess, J R Turpin.

Devon: M W Thompson, M Pugh, L J Lewis, T A Lammonby, M C Golding, Z G G Bess, J E Thompson, J V King, J A Stephens, G Yates, H M Whitlock, T R J Codd.

Somerset: J Allenby, F R Trenouth, G A Bartlett, T D Rouse, M A Leask, T Banton, R C Davies, B G F Green, O R T Sale, M T C Waller, J C Gore.