Holders bow out of Aaron Printers Cup to Babbacombe

THE Aaron Printers Cup reaches the semi-final stage this week with both games being played in the space of 24 hours

Ipplepen face Paignton at Abbotskeswell tomorrow night (Thursday) in the first semi-final.

Paignton put out Dartington & Totnes in the last round while Ipplepen overwhelmed South Devon.

Dartington made 89 for nine in their 20 overs – Ollie Payne top scoring on 28. Harry Baxendale (19) and Harold Stevenson (14no) chipped in.

Pick of the bowlers were Sam Woodcock (2-15) and Mark Smith (2-11).

Harry Ward (42no) and George Benton (35no) steered Paignton to a nine-wicket win.

Benton isn’t eligible for the semi-final as he played for Devon against Oxfordshire this week and current Minor Counties players are excluded by competition rules.

The other semi-final throws up an interesting tussle at Torquay Recreation Ground between Babbacombe and Abbotkerswell on Friday night.

Babbacombe are aiming to join Abbots in the B Division next season and will be interested to see how the measure up.

Babbacombe put out holders Bovey Tracey in the last round, denying them the chance of a trophy treble having lifted the trophy in 2015 and 2016.

Babbacombe racked up 160 for nine in their 20 overs – Dean Peall top scoring on 53. Steve Lewis (23) and Andy Kingdon (32) chugged along nicely.

Bovey were all out for 131 – Ben Roberts making 47 in a losing cause.

Men of the moment with the ball for Babbacombe were Tom Goodwin (3-25) and Andy McVeigh (3-26), aided and abetted by Steve Broad and Paul Bates with two wickets each.

Abbotskerswell have reached the last four without playing a game. They had a bye in the first round and were waved through in the second by Shaldon, who were unable to raise a side.