Dan Wolf named young player of the year at Tolchards DCL annual meeting


PAIGNTON batsman Dan Wolf was named young player of the year at the Tolchards Devon Cricket League annual meeting and awards night.

The Bob Bridges Trophy goes to the outstanding youth player in any division of the league over the season.Young player of the year Dan Wolf

Previous winners have included Chris Read (Paignton) and Mark Lathwell (Braunton), both of whom went on to play for England.

Wolf won the award for an impressive season with the bat for Paignton in the A Division. He made 590 runs at an average of 45.38 in the promotion-winning side.

The only English-qualified batsman to make more runs in the A Division last season was Bradninch captain Gary Chappell – and he was named player of the year!

Chappell made 966 league runs – 205 of them in one game against Sandford – and a hefty average of 87.82. He was unable to attend to collect his award.

Wolf – 19 in June – finished the season in Devon’s Minor Counties side.

Member clubs – all but two of them turned up at the Exeter Court Hotel for the meeting – had to plough through a dozen proposed rule changes.

Exeter’s representative Bruce Coleman quizzed Chairman Stuart Munday over a rise in committee expenses – up by £2,000 - and a reduction in honoraria paid to officers for services rendered.

In the absence of treasurer Mark Horwell, who could not attend the meeting, Munday promised to find out the reasons and report back to clubs.

An earlier date for the league annual meeting was agreed so that memories of issues arising the previous season were fresher in the minds of club representatives.

Abbotskerswell's Paul Mitchell receiving one of his club's trophies from league chairman Stuart MundayPremier Division clubs now have to provide broadband access for scorers, or face a potential two-point penalty.

One of the reasons for making on-line scoring compulsory was to expand use of the Duckworth-Lewis System.

Last season D-LS was only used to calculate targets for sides batting second in rain-affected games. From 2017 D-LS will be available to calculate projected totals for a side batting first that has been forced off early.

There was little enthusiasm for Whimple’s proposal to change the bonus point system to reward sides who bat first and win with five more points. Only two clubs voted in favour.

Declarations were finally scrapped in the Devon League, several years after a win-lose format replaced the old system of winning and losing draws.

Problems facing clubs lower down the league ladder, and clubs running second teams in the C Divisions and below, were addressed in a number of proposals.

Thirty-30 cricket got the thumbs down, but the use of artificial pitches to get games on was approved.

XI teams operating in the C Divisions and below, an informal loan system was agreed.ndAnd for 2

XI cricket won’t be eligible.st XI players will be able to loan them to other teams. Anyone who has played 1ndClubs who have spare 2

“It is envisaged clubs in a particular area will get together and make arrangements among themselves,” said Munday.

Changes to the way points are awarded in forfeited games failed to attract a seconder.

Before handing out divisional trophies to champion clubs, the league paid tribute to some of its hardest workers.League president Graham Shears (right) hands the services to cricket award to Phil Bees

Vice-chairman Phil Bees, who has had numerous roles over the past 31 years, was awarded the Services to Cricket Trophy. His first job was as E Division results secretary in 1986 while playing for Whitchurch.

Long-serving Premier Division results secretary Dennis White was made a life-member. He has been in post since 1996 when he took over from Harold Shaw of Bovey Tracey.

Sheila Harding of Topsham St James was made a life member for her work managing results and tables.

Nigel Piddock, the outgoing registration and cup secretary, was also honoured.

Captain’s award went to Cornwood’s Elliot Staddon (Premier Division), Ipplepen’s Keith Wakeham (A Division) and Tavistock’s Shaun Daymond (B Division).

Club of the year winners were: Sidmouth (Premier), Sandford (A Division) and Ottery St Mary (B Division).

Divisional winners: Premier (Sidmouth), A Division (Bradninch), B Division (Plymstock), C Division East (Seaton), C Division West (Abbotskerswell), D Division East (Clyst SG), D Division West (Shaldon Optimists).

2nd XI competition: Premier (Sidmouth), A Division (Torquay), B Division East (Braunton), B Division West (Abbotskerswell), C Division East (Exmouth), C Division West (Plympton), D Division East (Whimple), D Division West (Paignton), E Division West (Hatherleigh).